Five Ft. Three

“A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither. A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.” ― Milton Friedman

Who’s Looking Out for You?

on September 9, 2005

Bill O’Reilly has a book by that title. I lent my copy out to a friend, a friend who I try to “look out for” and be helpful to. I’m not sure if I make a difference or not in the life of that friend, or any of my friends, but I try. I also try to help out my family, even when they drive me crazy, because they are my family.

The federal government does have a constitutional duty to look out for me and all Americans, for common defense and general welfare. I do not think its the government’s duty to look out for me on every aspect of my life. I think its unreasonable to think they could do that for 300 million Americans.

In Bill O’Reilly’s book Who’s Looking Out for You? he says the very same thing, don’t count on the federal government to be looking out for you. In the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, he is saying the same thing.

It’s a tough way for we Americans to have learned this lesson.

Thanks for joining in on the discussion!

