Five Ft. Three

“A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither. A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.” ― Milton Friedman

Priorities

on October 6, 2007

ProudConservative.com has a great t-shirt which reads “American, Conservative, Republican, in that order”. Sounds about right to me.

I think most Americans share the same goals, you know the old “life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness” thing we hear about. I like to think of myself as an American first, because I believe these inalienable rights that were given to us by our Creator have been properly enumerated and defended by our republic by our Constitution.

Of course all Americans are not conservative, but after my pride in being an American, I am proud to consider myself a conservative. I believe the conservative values best serve our country’s interests and the spirit of the Constitution. Conservatism is about limited government, which is what the intentions of our founding fathers were. Conservatism embraces the individual and not the government as the answer to life’s challenges. Furthermore, conservatism respects the very basic right to life, without that the other rights are meaningless.

Of course all Republicans are not conservative, but given the choice they are the closest thing we’ve got for the time being. This election, however, I am disheartened by the lack of conservatism in some of the front runners in the GOP. I know it’s difficult to find anyone who would 100% agree with my conservative ideals, but that doesn’t mean I should have to hold my nose and vote in the primaries for a candidate that doesn’t represent some basic conservative principles.

Someday I hope that Republican and Conservative are synonomous, one can always hope. I don’t hold out as much hope that Americans will all become Conservative, after all a recent study showed that Conservative and Liberal brains are wired differently. Who knows though, miracles do happen!

Thanks for joining in on the discussion!

