Five Ft. Three

“A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither. A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.” ― Milton Friedman

The Tales of Two Conservatives

on September 17, 2008

I like the new feature Blogger added so I can know when the blogs I follow have a new posting, I have them listed to the right here with the title of their latest piece. Which made me notice that two of my regular blogging hangouts yesterday have diametrically opposing thoughts on voting.

First, Z-man at Stranded in Civilization wrote about how not voting can be an act of conscience. Using the analogy of marrying someone you are not in love not being good, Z says he could actually see himself not voting at all. I agree, because even though people say those who don’t vote shouldn’t complain, I say the act of not voting IS a form of complaint, that the choices presented stink!

Then I noticed Daniel at Right Minds has the headline that voting for a 3rd party candidate is wasting a vote. He lumps people who don’t vote in there with the 3rd party voters. His point is that Perot and Nader both helped split the vote and changed the outcome of the election, and the GOP will keep giving voters moderate candidates so the 3rd party voting isn’t making a difference. Daniel actually implied that conservatives need to be realistic and come to the center.

So, which conservative is standing on principle and not conceding to the establishment? It’s become obvious to me (maybe not to him) that one of my blogger friends has gone the way of Sean Hannity and become a hack for the Republican party.

Thanks for joining in on the discussion!

