Five Ft. Three

“A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither. A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.” ― Milton Friedman

The melting pot, remember that?

on October 19, 2008

I visited New York City last weekend, one of the places I went of course was to visit the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. I couldn’t help but think of the sacrifices people made to come to our land of opportunity (legally I might add) and to assimilate into the new world. Sure, they kept their family traditions, but they also realized their new home and their new allegience to America.

I couldn’t help but sing the song from the DVD I bought my kids of the old Schoolhouse Rock song, The Great American Melting Pot:

“Lovely Lady Liberty, with her book of recipes, and the greatest one she’s got…is the great American melting pot.”

When something melts, it still retains it’s same properties, but it also can be blended in with other melted things.

But today, I don’t see us melting very well. I see way too much Spanish language everywhere. I see people labelling themselves with a prefix to American, like “African-American”. I see people, even those running for president of the United States not saying the Pledge of Allegience! At the risk of “offending” people, we have to appear to be asexual and apolitical and apatriotic (I know it’s not a word, but it seems it should be).

Anyway, we have come a long way since the days of Ellis Island, but the USA is still the same beacon of hope for many people. We can celebrate our differences without separating ourselves from our core values of being an American.

Thanks for joining in on the discussion!

