Five Ft. Three

“A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither. A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.” ― Milton Friedman

Why abortion doesn’t have to be a religious issue

on November 17, 2008

As a Christian, I believe in Heaven and that we as humans should not fear death, but rather look forward to being with our Father in Heaven. I also believe the Father is the final judge of us all.

So, if I thought abortion was wrong because of my religion, wouldn’t it make more sense that I should wish for the unborn to go directly to Heaven (which I do think they do) to be in God’s glory without the pains of life here on earth? Should not I think that God’s final judgment is more important than my wanting to give the unborn a chance at life, thus as I am accused of giving some sort of penalty on the woman?

No, that I believe that the unborn deserve life once conceived is based on the words of our Founding Fathers, that the Constutition is for ourselves and our posterity. And also, based on the fact that as a woman, we need to respect the fact that our bodies are capable of giving birth to new life, and so it is a responsibility we have been given by nature.

By the way, I have asked my friends Soapboxgod and Z-man for guest posts on abortion issues, so stay tuned.

Thanks for joining in on the discussion!

