Five Ft. Three

“A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither. A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.” ― Milton Friedman

My prayer for the New Year

on December 28, 2008

I read a book a few years back called Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller and was so inspired by it that I bought a few extra copies and sent them to some friends who also enjoyed it. One message I took away from it was that world peace can never happen unless we have peace within ourselves, which is easier said than done. Hell, people get physical over football rivalries these days (although today I wore my Browns sweatshirt in a Pittsburgh Target and did NOT get harrassed, so people can be civil over these non-important issues thankfully). So, I used to pray for peace, as if some blanket could cover the earth and make it peaceful, but truth is I can only really bring peace upon myself, and hope others can find it in themselves, too.

So, as this year winds down and we turn the page on another chapter of our lives, this is my prayer.

Happy New Year!

Thanks for joining in on the discussion!

