Five Ft. Three

“A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither. A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.” ― Milton Friedman

The Sanctity of Human Life or Why I am Pro-Life

on January 4, 2009

My friend Z-man’s recent inspiring blogging about the Beauty of Life got me thinking about more than just the ugliness of abortion. It got me to thinking about how lives are valued in our society, or how they are sometimes devalued so that they can be “conveniently” ended.

The typical pro-abortion argument is that a fetus is just a bunch of cells. As if you and I aren’t just a bunch of cells. But then they argue well a fetus relies on its mother and cannot sustain itself, but hello a newborn infant outside the womb can’t either. But then these arguments show the true agenda of the anti-life movement. Because it’s not just unborn babies they want to have the option to kill, any person not deemed to be self-sustaining or worthy, such as the elderly or those who are severely deformed or retarded can just as easily be euthanized when the anti-life crowd tries to define what humanity means. And it’s all in the name of convenience, because people do not want to care for those who need it the most.

Sometimes I see the argument, why bring an unwanted child into the world who won’t be loved. Nonsense, God loves everyone. God sees the beauty in all persons, regardless of their age or abilities. We are called as human beings to see the beauty in every human being. When people treat me nastily, it is hard for me to see their beauty, but I know God does and so I need to, also.

This is why I am pro-life. I want to celebrate the beauty of Life. And I truly cannot imagine that when I meet my Maker in Heaven that he will tell me I was wrong about believing in and living my life thinking that abortion is wrong and being pro-life is right. Not that I think God will exault me either, I just think God expects us to be pro-life.

In closing, I’d like to thank Z-man for his posting that inspired me to write this. And I’d also like to explain why I have turned the Comment Moderation on. I have had too many personal attacks and false accusations made to me, and this sort of behavior is counterproductive to proper discussion on a very serious topic. So any comment made that is not related to the topic at hand, or that involves personal attacks obviously will not be published.

Thanks for joining in on the discussion!

