Five Ft. Three

“A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither. A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.” ― Milton Friedman

“Hope” and “Change”

on January 1, 2010

I hope I can change a few liberal minds with this posting, or maybe they could change mine!

The real HOPE that America brought was late in the 1700’s, about 1776, when many brave people drew a line in the sand and decided they wanted real CHANGE, away from tyranny and towards freedom. A real democracy, for the people, by the people! They fought for it and won it for all of us. The only way we can repay them is to preserve the freedoms they lost their lives for. At least that is my opinion.

But when Obama was running for the highest office in our nation, we used buzz phrases like “hope” and “change” and said he wanted to “fundamentally transform America”. If over 200 years ago we transformed our country to be the freest nation in the world, then to what would fundamentally changing it make it to be? We have already overcome terrible injustices of freedom when slaves were freed and when women got to vote. So, where else could we head if we changed except back towards tyranny??

For all the progressives who think that only the government can help people, do you ever look in the mirror first and think what have you done? Do you not value and admire the charitable works others do? Do we not as a nation admire those who are self-made people? I know I do.

This is what drives people like me crazy! If a liberal could answer any of these problems I have with progressivism, I would really appreciate it. I would really love to know why you think fundamentally changing America is a good thing? I would really love to know why you don’t believe in the human spirit that given the opportunity can do great things, and it’s not evil for them to benefit when they do? Please help me understand! Maybe if you could, you could change my mind! But you can’t change my hope, because Obama doesn’t give us hope, that comes from within, always.

Thanks for joining in on the discussion!

