Five Ft. Three

“A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither. A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.” ― Milton Friedman

Stewardship

on May 15, 2010

A few weeks ago I posted about capitalism and Dave Miller pointed out that Jesus would not agree with it because He did not believe in private property, to which I answered that yes everything does come from God but someone has possession of things at any given moment.

I was thinking of that post today while I was helping at church with spring clean-up. Our scouts did a similar thing a few weeks ago for our school. Later, I am going over to my parents to do MORE weeding and mulching, because they are not able to do a lot of the work themselves anymore. In between, I pulled a few weeds in my own yard. This all got me thinking about how I am taking care of places that are meaningful to me, and how it relates to being in possession of God’s gifts in our world (the physical gifts rather than the spiritual ones of course).

I do think we are called to be good stewards of the earth for the time we reside in it, and are able to do so. That we keep even our own selves clean and healthy is as important as keeping our world clean and healthy. Part of that is taking care of that which we are in possession of, our private property (you know that evil thing!)

Furthermore, some (such as Dave Miller) go above and beyond taking care of their own little piece of the world by doing charitable work, missionary work and the like. This is how it ought to be, in my opinion, doing what we can because we are able to and want to. Then it is done out of love, and not for fear of being punished.

In a perfect world, nobody would need help, ever. But we don’t live in a perfect world. I think we should foster the idea that we should be good stewards of whatever gifts we find ourselves blessed with.

This is my opinion, but I’d like to hear your thoughts on this.

Thanks for joining in on the discussion!

