Five Ft. Three

“A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither. A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.” ― Milton Friedman

Why is it?

on February 13, 2011

In my posting the other day that mentioned abortion, Shaw made it seem like just because every woman she knows that has had an abortion  was Catholic and had no regrets that all should feel the same way (I wonder how many that is, because I don’t know even one who has had an abortion).   I mean really, do pro-abortion people truly think that it never affects any woman negatively?  Is that how they can support abortion?

Then, over at Z-man’s blog, the topic of class warfare came up, and I said why should anyone hate a rich person if they made their money honestly, to which Saty mentions that some do not come about it honestly, to which I remarked that gee it sure is convenient that all rich people to a liberal get their money by doing something illegal, immoral or not through hard work, but then they will never admit that some people on welfare do anything to cheat the system.  This is why liberals drive me crazy, they wear blinders and only see the one side of the issues.  They are intellectually dishonest.

8 responses to “Why is it?

  1. Lista says:

    Actually, Beth, I've Seen Intellectual Dishonesty on Both Sides and I Don't Think that Saty said that ALL Rich People get their Money by Doing Something Illegal, yet if Some People do it Dishonestly, then this is Reason Enough for Some Regulation. I'm just Opposed to Extremes, such as Zero Regulation and Zero Assistance Programs and there are Libertarians that Believe in such an Extreme.

  2. Beth says:

    Lista, thanks for demonstrating exactly what it means to be intellectually dishonest, I said that Saty said SOME people, I never said she said ALL people. The inference is that it is the norm however and not the exception.

  3. Beth said:"In my posting the other day that mentioned abortion, Shaw made it seem like just because every woman she knows that has had an abortion was Catholic and had no regrets that all should feel the same way (I wonder how many that is, because I don't know even one who has had an abortion). I mean really, do pro-abortion people truly think that it never affects any woman negatively? Is that how they can support abortion?:How dare you contradict Madam Shaw!

  4. soapster says:

    I'm a bit confused here. Thought I read that Saty or Shaw said not all rich people earn their money honestly or something to that effect. Then your response makes it seem like she said all rich people earn their money through immoral means.

  5. Doug says:

    I'm so glad I'm not the only one confused…"to which Saty mentions that SOME do not come about it honestly, to which I remarked that gee it sure is convenient that ALL rich people to a liberal get their money by doing something illegal, immoral or not through hard work"I have to agree with lista on this one too . . . neither side can claim immunity.

  6. Beth says:

    My question to Saty was why would you hate a person who comes about their fortunes honestly and legally, to which she brings up that not all are honest, but she never addresses those who do come by it legally or morally. That is the problem, they ignore that side, which leads me to say that they are wearing blinders.

  7. Beth says:

    OK, I re-read what I wrote, but I didn't say that Saty said ALL, I said that liberals in general make it seem like ALL the way the talk about it but do not mention that people do come about their fortunes honestly.

  8. Lista says:

    By Making that Statement and Directing it at Saty, Beth, you were Implying that she was Guilty of it. Even if that was not what you Intended to Imply, my Misunderstanding of your Intention is not the Same as Intellectual Dishonesty. Instead, it is Intellectually Dishonest of you to Think that I should be Able to Understand Perfectly everything that you say and that if I don't, that is Intellectual Dishonesty.Well, I Guess that both Soap and Doug Misunderstood you too.If Saty's Offense was Avoiding a Question, then I also Know Conservatives that do that One as well. If Saty's Offense was Only Seeing One Side of an Issue… Lista Chuckles. Yes, Conservatives are also Guilty of that one. The Only Way to Truly See Both Sides of an Issue, Beth, is to be a Moderate, for the Problem of Wearing Blinders Runs Rampant in those who will not Compromise. And this Goes for Both Sides.Thanks Doug. At Least One Person Knows what I'm saying.

Thanks for joining in on the discussion!

