Five Ft. Three

“A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither. A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.” ― Milton Friedman

What about free medical pills for me?

on February 18, 2012

Preventing pregnancy is NOT a medical necessity, but my daily headaches are, why don’t insurance companies have to pay for my pills that I need for my headaches?

14 responses to “What about free medical pills for me?

  1. Z-man says:

    If the headache is related to sex then maybe they'll pay.

  2. Apparently you must not be aware that oral contraception is also used to treat various conditions, such as endometriosis, adenomyosis, and polycystic ovarian disease.

  3. Beth says:

    Z-man – LOLSaty – how the hell would I know that, I am not a doctor nor am I a pharmacist. If it treats a medical condition, then I can see that being paid for. I don't think insurance companies should have to pay for something to prevent pregnancy.

  4. Shaw Kenawe says:

    "I don't think insurance companies should have to pay for something to prevent pregnancy."Thank Darwin a majority of American men and women disagree with you.

  5. Beth says:

    Insurance companies don't pay for elective things, and taking the pill to prevent pregnancy falls under that category.

  6. Hormonal treatments are also used to manage menopausal symptoms. As far as insurance companies paying for contraception, I would imagine it's far cheaper than paying for pregnancies, deliveries, complications of both, so on and so forth. Just a thought on that there.So, since you don't think insurance companies should pay for preventing pregnancy, I can be assured you also believe that IVF and other fertility treatments shouldn't be paid for either?Because if preventing pregnancy is elective, so is fertility stuff. And vasectomies too, right?

  7. Beth says:

    Menopause, I am not there either. I would say that yes, anything elective including invitro should not be covered.As for the logic that the pill costs less than prenatal care, there is a free method of preventing pregnancy, so if you cannot pay for a certain kind, why should insurance pay for it?

  8. Surely the pill must be less expensive than a woman who needs to be in the hospital for preeclampsia for the last five weeks of her pregnancy and who undergoes mass complications both before and after the delivery, as well as significant complications for the baby. Kind of like how DEXA scans to detect osteoporosis (which can then be treated) are cheaper than repairing/replacing/rehabbing a broken hip.That's pretty simple math.

  9. Beth says:

    You aren't seriously suggesting that women should not get pregnant because they MIGHT have a complication, are you?

  10. soapster says:

    And people wonder why their premiums are going up.

  11. Beth says:

    I don't actually think my insurance should pay for my headache medicine, I just threw it out there to show once you start paying for oral contraception, how can you not start paying for all sorts of other pills we take?

  12. What I said was from that an insurance company's standpoint it is cheaper to pay for contraception than it is to pay for antepartum/LD/postpartum and all the necessities and complications thereunto pertaining.Preventatives are always more financially responsible.

  13. Z-man says:

    Few years ago I had a benign cyst removed from my neck but my union/insurance company sent me a notice back saying it wasn't covered because it was elective on my part. Sex is an elective act, it's not medically necessary or needed to extend your life so it shouldn't be covered under insurance. Certainly the State or the Gov't shouldn't force insurance companies to pay for it either. Seems pretty libertarian to me.

  14. Beth says:

    Saty, why do you care about insurance companies paying for prenatal care for what you consider a bunch of cells? Seems to me that is elective as well.

Thanks for joining in on the discussion!

