Five Ft. Three

“A society that puts equality before freedom will get neither. A society that puts freedom before equality will get a high degree of both.” ― Milton Friedman

50 Shades of Whatever

on August 2, 2012

Am I the only one who does not like this book?  I mean, I kinda knew what it was about before I downloaded a copy from our library onto my Kindle, but I returned the book prior to finishing it.  To me, she is a prostitute, plain and simple.  And I totally figured out who “Mrs. Robinson” is without having to read all three books.  Nope, part of the first book was enough for me.  I don’t think of myself as a prude, but the main female character must have so little self-esteem or just really likes putting out for expensive gifts, it really was sad actually, I felt sorry for her.

5 responses to “50 Shades of Whatever

  1. How do you ‘return’ an eBook? I thought they just expired. . .

    Anyway, I usually do not read stuff like that. I just do not find it interesting.

    FYI – I am currently reading Team Turnarounds. It’s not free, nor particularly revolutionary, but it does make for interesting reading because of the real world examples and stories.

  2. Beth says:

    Doug, all you have to do to return a book is login to your Amazon account and manage your Kindle, you can return books if done with them before the due date. I was being nice and returning it since I didn’t care for it but knew there was a waiting list, so someone else got it quicker.

    Actually, thinking of the headline I saw that 50 Shades has sold better on Amazon than Harry Potter, it is probably because of more digital copies being sold, whereas HP just recently went digital.

    I simply don’t see the appeal, which seems to be more women than men. I mean, if you like that stuff, suggest it to your partner instead of reading about it. I don’t know if the idea of young nobody girl finding a rich boyfriend is what people like reading, but the fairy tale similarity ends there, because in my mind this is no fairy tale of poor girl getting rich, hunky guy, but rather weak girl gets dominated and humiliated for nice dinners and new car.

  3. Z-man says:

    Even though the book seems popular on its own I think the media drummed up support for it by making it an issue in their Sunday inserts otherwise I never would have heard of it. It’s partly but not all media-driven.

  4. BB-Idaho says:

    I think Z-Man touched a bit on the phenomenon…much of the publication figures are for the e-book. I’m not that familar, but the author, E. L. James in this interview, said that she would be
    horrified if her two teenaged sons read it . I am a hardcover book collector, have an entire room full and
    only buy those which i will re-read, with non-fiction interest in history, religion and science (especially the new stuff coming out on DNA, chromosomes & genetics). I am re-reading the
    Journals of Lewis & Clark for the third time (7 volumes-those guys wrote what they did, where
    they went and what they saw every single evening for over two years). 10 years before
    Cleveland incorporated as a village on the Cuyahoga outlet, they paddled, walked and rode
    horseback for 3500 miles of untrod western wilderness…a unique study in geography, teamwork and to quote Stephen Ambrose, ‘undaunted courage’.
    …so to a history buff, such is excitement with the written word. Like you, I would probably
    return ’50 Shades of Grey’!

  5. Z-man says:

    Apparently the writing ain’t that great either.

Thanks for joining in on the discussion!

